Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

18 Gulls Continue Historic Season Well Into Summer Months

18 Gulls Continue Historic Season Well Into Summer Months

BEVERLY, Mass.-  Coming off of the most successful season in program history which saw the team advance to within one win of the College World Series, many Gulls were eager to keep working on their game over the summer and did so in impressive fashion.  Every player played in leagues that only used wood bats in New England. 

All in all, 18 players participated in summer leagues with one being voted unanimously as the Rookie Position Player of the Year by the coaches.  That player, Harry Oringer (Dartmouth, Mass.), played for the Reading Bulldogs of the InterCity League.  He helped guide his squad to the semifinals of the league playoffs. 

EJ Martinez (Brooklyn, N.Y.), played for Temp Contact in the Cape (Cotuit) before heading to Nashua to play for the Silver Nights in the Futures Collegiate Baseball League (FCBL) where he was named an all-star.  His squad lost to the Martha's Vineyard Sharks which had two of his team mates on the roster in Tad Gold (Martha's Vineyard, Mass.) and Brett Holmgren (Middleboro, Mass.).  Gold and Holmgren were also able to knock off another teammate in Tyler Hill (Las Vegas, Nev.) who played for the Old Orchard Beach Raging Tide and was eliminated in the semis of the FCBL by the Sharks.

Other notable performances came from Harry Oringer (Dartmouth, Mass.) and Steve Morganelli (Milford, Mass.) who also played in the InterCity League and made it to the semifinals.  

Mike Walkowicz (Amherst, Mass.) also made another post season appearance as his St. Joseph team on the Tri County League made the playoffs.

Others playing in summer wooden bat leagues included Connor McLaughlin (Clinton, Mass.), Mike Cahill (Plymouth, Mass.), Matt Paola (Middlebury, Conn.), Cody Hall (Rutland, Mass.), Corbin Hyde (Lewiston, Maine), Tim Brutto (Worcester, Mass.), JJ Branch (Milford, Mass.), Josh Drew (Intervale, N.H.), Nick Quattro (Canton, Conn.), Davarn Nova (Wareham, Mass.) and Zac Poland (Essex Junction, Vt.). 


Player Team League
Connor McLaughlin Clinton 76'ers Central New England Baseball Association
Tad Gold Martha's Vineyard Sharks Futures Collegiate Baseball League
Brett Holmgren Martha's Vineyard Sharks Futures Collegiate Baseball League
EJ Martinez Nashua Sharks Futures Collegiate Baseball League
Tyler Hill Old Orchard Beach Raging Tide Futures Collegiate Baseball League
Harry Oringer Reading Bulldogs Intercity League
Mike Cahill Kingston Pirates Cranberry Baseball League
Matt Paoloa Connecticut Warriors Bridgeport Senior City League
Cody Hall Wachusett American Legion
Steve Morganelli Watertown Reds Intercity League
Corbin Hyde Lewiston (Me.) Twilight League (Me.)
Mike Walkowicz St. Joseph Tri County League
Tim Brutto   American Legion
JJ Branch Milford American Legion
Josh Drew   Twilight League (Me.)
Nick Quattro Tobacco Valley Renegades Connecticut Collegiate Baseball League
Davarn Nova East Coast Eagles AAU
Zac Poland   Green Mountain League (Vt.)