Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Boyd Division winner Gulls well represented on NEFC All-Division Teams

Boyd Division winner Gulls well represented on NEFC All-Division Teams
Beverly, Mass. – The 2010 Endicott football team set a program record for most New England Football Conference (NEFC) All-Division selections with 12, including nine First Team honorees and the Defensive Player of the Year.

These 12 selections and the rest of the Gulls squad will roll into Castine, Maine on Saturday at noon for the NEFC Championship against Bogan Division winner Maine Maritime Academy. Endicott will be playing for their first conference title in program history.

Highlighting Endicott’s nine NEFC Boyd Division First Team selections is junior defensive lineman \#Kevin Eagan\# (West Hartford, Conn.) who was named the Defensive Player of the Year two seasons after claiming Defensive Rookie of the Year honors. Eagan, who is earning a First Team award for the third straight season, is the leader of an Endicott defense that ranks near the top in every defensive category. He has accumulated 80 tackles, eight sacks, and 17 tackles for a loss.

Joining Eagan on the Boyd Division First Team for defense are backs \#Kyle Capsalis\# (Townsend, Mass.) and \#Bill Hickey\# (Walpole, Mass.). Capsalis and Hickey have been instrumental in Endicott’s defense of opposing passing games. Hickey leads the team with 11 pass break ups and Capsalis is tied for second with six. Capsalis is also tied for the team-high in interceptions with two while Hickey has one. Linebacker \#Nick Scozzaro\# (Wellington, Fla.), a one-time ECAC Defensive Player of the Week and two-time NEFC Defensive Player of the Week, was second on the team in sacks (5.0) and tackles for a loss (11.5). Scozzaro was a tackling machine, registering 55 takedowns including 29 solo. He led all Endicott players with three fumble recoveries. 

Endicott’s offensive selections the Boyd Division First Team saw a couple of repeat offenders as junior running back \#Mike Lane\# (Medfield, Mass.) earned his third straight First Team mention. Lane, the 2008 NEFC Co-Offensive Rookie of the Year, is first in the division in rushing yards with 1,080 including 405 over the final two games of the regular season. Lane saw the end zone six times this season. Junior guard \#Nick Molinari\# (Staten Island, N.Y.) earned his second NEFC Boyd Division First Team nod leading an offensive line that was third in the conference in sacks against (13) and was among the division leaders in rushing offense with 138.8 rushing yards per game. 

Other First Team offense winners include juniors \#Phil Konopka\# (Shelton, Conn.) and \#Taylor Allen\# (Westboro, Mass.). Konopka has passed for 1,729 yards in 10 games this season with 17 touchdowns and a 54.1 completion percentage. The top quarterback in the division, Konopka earns his first NEFC All-Division selection. Allen, Endicott’s tight end, was Konopka favorite end zone target as he led the team with six touchdown receptions in his first NEFC All-Division selection season. He is tied for second on the team with 25 receptions. Capping off the First Team winners is freshman placekicker \#Dylan Rushe\# (Palos Verdes, Calif.) who led all NEFC kickers with 70 points by going 31-for-31 on point after attempts and 13-of-18 on field goals. His longest made field goal was 44 yards, but he was a stunning 8-for-13 on field goal attempts of at least 30 yards out. 

The Blue and Green also had three Second Team honorees on the NEFC Boyd All-Division squad. Junior center \#Mike Zupkoski\# (Westford, Mass.) and junior tackle \#Sean Gaffney\# (Worcester, Mass.) earned their first selections in their third seasons on the Gulls offensive line. Senior wide out \#Neil Powers\# (Westford, Mass.) tied teammate Taylor Allen for second-best on the team with 25 receptions and added five touchdowns en route to his first NEFC All-Division selection. He averaged 16.1 yards per reception. 

2010 NEFC All-Division Teams