Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Gulls Place Six Student-Athletes On All-CCC Teams; Carter Ocko Named Co-Defensive POY

Gulls Place Six Student-Athletes On All-CCC Teams; Carter Ocko Named Co-Defensive POY


SPRINGFIELD, Mass.- The Endicott men's soccer team is pleased to recognize six Gulls named to the 2015 Men's Soccer Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) All-CCC teams, as well as a Co-Defensive Player of the Year winner, as announced today by the conference office.

Sophomore back Carter Ocko (Danvers, Mass.) has been selected as the conference Co-Defensive Player of the Year, sharing the honor with sophomore back Ben Gradert (Hudson, Ohio) of Gordon College.

Ocko's honor was the first time in program history that the Gulls had a player earn this distinction.

For the first time in program history since joining the CCC in 1999, Endicott placed four student-athletes on the All-CCC First Team. Senior forward Abdulla Al Khalifa (Riffa, Bahrain), senior midfielder Shintaroh Itoh (Nerima, Tokyo, Japan), junior goalkeeper Nick Weinstein (Trumbull, Conn.) and Ocko were honored.

Senior forward Diego Slobotzky (Mexico City, Mexico) was named to the All-CCC Second Team, while sophomore midfielder Conner Couchot (Mason, Ohio) rounded out the Gulls' honorees on the Third Team.

The Gulls' six 2015 selections are the most in recent program history, behind the eight student-athletes honored in the 1998 season when Endicott was still a member of the Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC).

Slobotzky and Couchot were 2014 All-CCC members of the First and Second Teams, respectively, and Al Khalifa was a 2013 All-CCC Second Team selection. Itoh, Weinstein, and Ocko are first time honorees.

Head coach Joe Calabrese (51-35-15) earned his first CCC Coach of the Year honor in his fifth year at the helm of the Gulls' program. This was the first time an Endicott men's soccer coach has earned this honor, as Mike Kersker was last named GNAC Coach of the Year in 1997 and 1998.

The Gulls will be back in action when No. 1 seed Endicott hosts No. 8 seed Curry on Saturday, October 31 at 12:00 p.m. in the CCC Quarterfinal match at Hempstead Stadium.  

For the latest on Endicott Athletics, follow the Gulls on social media on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and YouTube.


Offensive Player of the Year- Nolan Brady, Salve Regina
Offensive Player of the Year- Caleb Cole, Gordon
Defensive Player of the Year- Ben Gradert, Gordon
Defensive Player of the Year- Carter Ocko, Endicott
Rookie of the Year- James Morrison- Wentworth Institute of Technology
Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year- Joseph Pate, Salve Regina
Coach of the Year- Joe Calabrese, Endicott
Team Sportsmanship Award - Eastern Nazarene College



F – Abdulla Al Khalifa, Endicott, Senior 
F – Nolan Brady, Salve Regina, Junior
F – Andrew Nelson, Eastern Nazarene, Sophomore
F – Troy Remillard, Western New England, Sophomore
M – Emmett Basaca, Wentworth, Sophomore
M – Caleb Cole, Gordon, Junior
M – Shintaroh Itoh, Endicott, Senior
B – Ben Gradert, Gordon, Sophomore
B – Colin Macdonald, Western New England, Senior
B – Carter Ocko, Endicott, Sophomore
GK – Nick Weinstein, Endicott, Junior


F – Matt Cotnoir, Curry, Senior 
F – Evan Crocker, Gordon, Senior
F – Tyler Modzeleski, Gordon, Freshman
F – Diego Slobotzky, Endicott, Senior
M – Joshua Cochran, Gordon, Sophomore
M – Trevor Sparda, Roger Williams, Sophomore
M – Neil Williams, Western New England, Junior
B – Steven Aston, Salve Regina, Junior
B – Erik Holmqvist, University of New England, Junior
B – Sam Martins, Wentworth, Senior
GK – Josh Spoonhour, Gordon, Junior


F – Ryan Banker, Nichols, Junior
F – Chad Burke, Western New England, Senior
F – Sean Janson, Roger Williams, Sophomore
M – Tyler Brenner, Nichols, Junior
M – Conner Couchot, Endicott, Sophomore
M – Richie Finizio, Salve Regina, Sophomore
B – Kenneth Callahan, Wentworth, Sophomore
B – Charlie Mader, Roger Williams, Sophomore
B – Collin Surface, Gordon, Freshman
B – Michael Zendan, Wentworth, Sophomore
GK – Kevin Strobel, Western New England, Junior