Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Pitcher of the Year Quattro Leads Five on All-CCC Baseball Teams

Pitcher of the Year Quattro Leads Five on All-CCC Baseball Teams

2015 All-CCC Baseball Release
Endicott Baseball All-Conference History

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Junior right-handed reliever Nick Quattro (Canton, Conn.) headlined a group of five Endicott players who were recognized on the 2015 All-CCC Baseball Teams with Pitcher of the Year and All-CCC First Team honors as it was announced today by league commissioner Gregg M. Kaye. Quattro becomes the fourth different Endicott pitcher in the past five seasons to earn the CCC Pitcher of the Year award, joining current teammate JJ Branch (Milford, Mass.), former teammate Tyler Hitchcock '13, and Benjamin Petrides '11.

Quattro is joined on the All-CCC First Team by Branch and sophomore centerfielder Cam Farnham (Andover, Mass.) while senior captain and second baseman Harry Oringer (Dartmouth, Mass.), a D3Baseball Second Team All-American selection in 2014 and a D3Baseball Preseason First Team All-American this spring, was placed on the All-CCC Second Team. Junior designated hitter Anthony Serina (Portsmouth, R.I.) collected his first collegiate all-conference accolade with All-CCC Third Team recognition.

Quattro, after having a limited role in his freshman and sophomore campaigns, erupted onto the scene in 2015 to sport a 7-1 record and a save with a 1.40 ERA over 38 2/3 innings pitched. Quattro has baffled opposing hitters to the tune of 47 strikeouts this season, a .132 batting average against, and just six earned runs allowed on 17 hits. He ranks first among NCAA DIII pitchers with just 3.66 hits allowed per nine innings, second in WHIP (0.59), and 11th in victories (7).

Quattro was named to the Team of the Week after earning CCC Pitcher of the Week honors for his role in securing a 5-1 week for the Gulls in the end of March with two wins and 10 2/3 shutout innings in three relief appearances.

Branch turned in another solid campaign as Endicott's ace with a 5-2 overall record, two complete games, and one shutout. Over the course of 53.0 innings pitched during the regular season, Branch had a 1.70 ERA, held batters to a .238 batting average, and struck out 35. He recorded wins over regionally-ranked programs like Wheaton (Mass.) and Salem State while registering his lone shutout in a 3-0 win over CCC opponent Roger Williams to secure the top seed in the CCC Tournament.

Farnham was a major catalyst in Endicott's base running scheme that produced the NCAA's 13th-ranked team in total stolen bases (84) during the regular season. Farnham, who is batting .322 on the season, got on base regularly with a team-high 38 hits and matched freshman Michael DeDonato (Chelmsford, Mass.) for the team lead with 19 stolen bases. He was caught just four times. Farnham has scored 17 runs and drove in 10 in his sophomore season.

Oringer earns his third All-CCC award of his collegiate career after being named to the First Team as a sophomore and junior. Oringer is batting .273 with a team-leading 31 runs scored, 28 RBIs, 11 extra-base hits including a career-best six homeruns, 22 walks, and 14 stolen bases in 15 attempts. Oringer has surpassed 200 hits for his career which puts him fourth on Endicott's all-time hits list. His 200th hit was a two-run, walk-off homerun to give the Gulls a 3-2 victory over New England's fourth-ranked Wheaton Lyons.

Finally, Serina was Endicott's leading hitting against the conference with a .410 average and six of his 16 hits going for extra bases. Serina doubled four times, hit a homerun, and a triple as he accumulated seven RBIs and six runs scored in CCC games. One of his biggest games of the conference schedule was in a 5-2 game one win over Wentworth as Serina went 3-for-4 with a two-run homerun and a RBI double. Serina would also swiped six bags in seven attempts in 28 games played this year.

Besides Quattro's CCC Pitcher of the Year major award, the CCC recognized Salve Regina designated hitter Alex Perry as the Player and Rookie of the Year. Western New England's Matt Anziano and Gordon's Wesley Arning shared Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Curry head coach Dave Perdios was named Coach of the Year, and both Western New England and Eastern Nazarene received a Team Sportsmanship Award.