Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Endicott Places League-Best 18 Student-Athletes On CHC All-Academic Team

2016-17 Endicott women's ice hockey team photo


BEVERLY, Mass. – The No. 8/10 nationally ranked Endicott women's ice hockey team placed a league-best 18 student-athletes on the Colonial Hockey Conference (CHC) All-Academic Team, as announced earlier today. 

The 18 student-athletes named to the list were Dynnea Bezona (Fairbanks, Alaska), Ellen Carter (Roseville, Minn.), Danielle Comorre (Tujunga, Calif.), Samantha Crowley (Leicester, Mass.), Holly Erbe (Woodbine, Md.)Meaghan Farragher (Bridgewater, Mass.), Samantha Fuller (Moretown, Vt.), Kylie Hallam (West Barnstable, Mass.), Caroline Hughes (Andover, Mass.), Vendela Jonsson (Linkoping, Sweden), Lexi Klein (Shoreview, Minn.), Maggie Layo (Sandwich, Mass.), Rachel Lustenring (Poughkeepsie, N.Y.), Teneal Perry (Halifax, Nova Scotia), Alicia Steeves (Chelmsford, Mass.), Meredith Vlachos (East Bridgewater, Mass.), Courtney Walpole (Allen, Texas), and Allison Young (Cumberland, R.I.)

To be eligible for All-Academic recognition a student-athlete must carry a minimum of a 3.0 cumulative grade point average (GPA) and have completed one full-year at their current institution. All seven CHC institutions were represented with 72 student-athletes in total earning the honor. 

As previously mentioned, Endicott led the way with a conference-best 18 student-athletes honored. Every student-athlete on the women's ice hockey roster who was eligible to earn the award did so. The Gulls also set a new conference standard for the most student-athletes recognized with their 18 selections. SUNY Canton checked in at second overall with 15 total, while the five other programs in the league finished with nine student-athletes or less on the list. 

WOMEN'S 2016-17 SEASON HIGHLIGHTS (22-4-1 overall | 11-1-0 CHC) 

In 2016-17, the Endicott women's ice hockey program captured their first-ever CHC regular season title before playing in its second straight conference championship game. Unfortunately, Endicott fell to Morrisville State, 3-1, at home in the CHC championship game. The Gulls finished the year nationally ranked in the following categories: No. 11 scoring offense (3.00 g/gm), No. 4 scoring defense (1.22 g/gm), No. 8 scoring margin (1.78), No. 1 fewest penalty minutes (5.5 pim/g), No. 18 power play (18.6%), No. 1 penalty kill (95.8%, 68/71), No. 46 combined special teams (46.0%, 92/200), and No. 4 team winning percentage (.833, 22-4-1). 

Endicott also saw Andy McPhee earn CHC Coach of the Year honors along with Carter, Klein, Jonsson, Layo, and Jade Meier (Fairbanks, Alaska) claim All-Conference accolades. Meier also joined Nicole Demers (Avon, Conn.) and Jillian Gibbs (Burlington, Vt.) on the CHC All-Rookie Team as well. 

For the latest on Endicott Athletics, follow the Gulls on social media on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and YouTube.