Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Endicott Women's Ice Hockey Lands 10 Student-Athletes On AHCA All-American Scholar List

2016-17 Endicott women's ice hockey team photo


BEVERLY, Mass. – The Endicott women's ice hockey team saw 10 student-athletes named to the America Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) All-American Scholars list, which was announced by the AHCA earlier this week.

The 10 student-athletes named to the list include Dynnea Bezona (Fairbanks, Alaska), Ellen Carter (Roseville, Minn.), Nicole Demers (Avon, Conn.), Meaghan Farragher (Bridgewater, Mass.), Jillian Gibbs (Burlington, Vt.), Caroline Hughes (Andover, Mass.), Vendela Jonsson (Linkoping, Sweden), Rachel Lustenring (Poughkeepsie, N.Y.), Michaela McNamara (Warwick, R.I.), and Jade Meier (Fairbanks, Alaska).

To be eligible for the list, a student-athlete must have an average GPA of at least 3.6 and participated in 40 percent or more of the teams' games during the 2016-17 season.

WOMEN'S 2016-17 SEASON HIGHLIGHTS (22-4-1 overall | 11-1-0 CHC) 

In 2016-17, the Endicott women's ice hockey program captured their first-ever CHC regular season title before playing in its second straight conference championship game. Unfortunately, Endicott fell to Morrisville State, 3-1, at home in the CHC championship game. The Gulls finished the year nationally ranked in the following categories: No. 11 scoring offense (3.00 g/gm), No. 4 scoring defense (1.22 g/gm), No. 8 scoring margin (1.78), No. 1 fewest penalty minutes (5.5 pim/g), No. 18 power play (18.6%), No. 1 penalty kill (95.8%, 68/71), No. 46 combined special teams (46.0%, 92/200), and No. 4 team winning percentage (.833, 22-4-1). 

Endicott also saw Andy McPhee earn CHC Coach of the Year honors along with Lexi Klein (Shoreview, Minn.), Maggie Layo (Sandwich, Mass.), Jonsson, Carter, and Meier claim All-Conference accolades. Meier also joined Demers and Gibbs on the CHC All-Rookie Team as well. 

For the latest on Endicott Athletics, follow the Gulls on social media on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and YouTube.

(Photo Credit - David Le '10)